Green pastures….

Not another death. Why another funeral? My husband’s dear Uncle, another in a long line of funerals over the past 2 1/2 years. The 7th one, to be precise.

He was another of that fine generation, a brave soldier who fought to protect our country, our freedoms, in WWII. My husband has such fond memories, as a child, of his uncle pulling quarters out of his ear and indulging him with his time.

The “good times” certainly pass, but the wonderful memories, now bittersweet in the face of death, live on.

Death is our enemy. But the Good News is that Jesus conquered sin and death once and for all. We have only to accept His free gift of eternal salvation to be saved. May all who read this know Him.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever. Psalm 23

 I enhanced my watercolor graphically to look like an impressionist piece. It was used as an illustration for a poem written by a talented friend, who helped draw me to Christ many years ago, Larry Randall. His poem appears below: 

NATURE’S SPRING by Larry Randall

Willow trees sway softly,
Deer graze in the meadows,
Soft clouds roll by slowly,
While casting giant shadows.
As streams of misty air,
Creep gently over hills,
A cloud’s ballet reaches upwards,
Fleeing the morning’s chill
The sun quickly rises,
After night has finally gone,
Birds begin their dance on air,
Then start singing nature’s song,
Jasmine adds such a sweet bouquet,
As its aroma perfumes the day,
Beautiful flowers compose an array,
As sparkling dew decorates its display.

No part of this poem may be use without the permission of the author.

About lisasalan

I am a watercolor artist that loves to dabble in other media and materials. I particularly love rendering God’s amazing creation, be it animals, flowers, autumn leaves or landscapes. My website is FaithfulFriendsArt.com. Among my Faithful Friends are my wonderful husband and precious daughter, two darling dogs and a beloved Persian kitty. And, of course, my most True and Faithful Friend is my Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ. Please visit FaithfulFriendsArt.com.
This entry was posted in Christ, death, eternal life, free gift, funeral, God, Lord, Psalm 23, sacrifice, salvation, sin, Uncategorized, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

