Comfort

I have been praying for the friend of a friend whose son was serving in Afghanistan until recently, until he was the victim of a terrorist. He stepped on an explosive device designed specifically to maim and kill our young soldiers. I am so thankful to report that, although he was nearly paralyzed and blinded, God’s grace transcended the obvious and a miracle was bestowed upon him ~ he can see and will walk again, albeit with a limp. Praise God.

However, one of the miraculous aspects to my story involves not the manifest physical healing, but the spiritual strength which undergirded it all. It is the response of this young man to the excruciating pain he has had to endure. It was relayed to me that he told his Mom that he was glad that he could still feel pain. Incredible! Yet, I am convinced that such an amazing comment of gratitude under such circumstances could only come from one who has been carried through his ordeal by His Lord and Savior.

The painting above of Jesus bringing comfort (my own precious daughter is the young girl) was inspired on behalf of a dear friend who is remembering, in sorrow and pain, the first anniversary of her father’s death. It is a reminder that, no matter what you are going through, your Jehovah Shammah ~ meaning “the Lord is there” ~ will be there to carry you through.

“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5

All artwork displayed is under copyright, and is available in print & poster formats. Please comment here to order. To see other artwork by this writer, please visit  www.FaithfulFriendsArt.com 

About lisasalan

I am a watercolor artist that loves to dabble in other media and materials. I particularly love rendering God’s amazing creation, be it animals, flowers, autumn leaves or landscapes. My website is FaithfulFriendsArt.com. Among my Faithful Friends are my wonderful husband and precious daughter, two darling dogs and a beloved Persian kitty. And, of course, my most True and Faithful Friend is my Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ. Please visit FaithfulFriendsArt.com.
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, comfort, friend, friends, gratitude, Hebrews 13:5, Jehovah Shammah, Jesus, Lord, miracle, Savior, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

