Endurance

The brother-in-law of a very good family friend went home to be with the Lord last week. He was an uncommonly brave soul who endured years of debilitating pain as his body was attacked by brain and spinal tumors. Although I didn’t know him personally, I had asked for updates on his health and prayed for him for the last 3 or 4 years. Through all his suffering, I am told, neither he nor his lovely wife lost their faith in God. Although there may have been agonizing moments when cries of “why?” were excruciatingly left unanswered, these two saints allowed “the peace of God” to envelop them, comfort them and urge them onward.  On the day this precious man passed from this life into eternity, he no doubt heard the most cherished words, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” I am grateful for such examples of suffering saints, who choose to run their race with endurance rather than succumb to the enemy’s desire for hopelessness or bitterness or self-pity. Their steadfastness is an encouragement to me in persevering on to the indescribable rewards that await all believers who endure to the end.

This watercolor was a gift to this man’s wife to recall his great love of lighthouses scenes. As I painted I wondered, was it the strength and safety of these stalwart towers that drew him to this theme? Or was it their enduring light in the darkest nights? Whatever the answer was, I am heartened to know that he sought refuge in our strong tower, in the “light of the world,” Jesus Christ, during the enormous “storm” of his life.

As I think about this dear man, I picture him gathered into Jesus’s arms, safe forever from pain and Satan’s other devices, and joyously awaiting the day when his family and friends in Christ meet up with him again.

 “Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us…” Hebrews 12:1

All artwork displayed is under copyright, and is available in print & poster formats. Please comment here to order. To see other artwork by this writer, please visit  www.FaithfulFriendsArt.com 

About lisasalan

I am a watercolor artist that loves to dabble in other media and materials. I particularly love rendering God’s amazing creation, be it animals, flowers, autumn leaves or landscapes. My website is FaithfulFriendsArt.com. Among my Faithful Friends are my wonderful husband and precious daughter, two darling dogs and a beloved Persian kitty. And, of course, my most True and Faithful Friend is my Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ. Please visit FaithfulFriendsArt.com.
This entry was posted in brain tumors, endurance, eternity, God, Hebrews 12:1, Jesus Christ, lighthouse, Lord, saints, suffering, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Endurance

  1. chazdesimone says:

    Lisa, thank you for honoring my brother-in-law Ian and comforting my sister Roslyn with your magnificent artwork. To receive a custom painting on a sympathy card is surely the most heartfelt message of condolences my sister will cherish forever.

Leave a Reply

