Reflecting

I have to say I just LOVE this watercolor ~ even if I do say so myself! The colors are so pretty but mostly the classic “dog” gaze is SO sweet! You have to just wonder what they’re thinking. (Of course the Lord took over my paintbrush, as He does on all my “good ones!”)

The Max Lucado devotional I am reading has given me cause to do some thinking myself, on life. What Mr. Lucado writes (my paraphrase) is that we are never really happy here on earth because we’re not supposed to be. This intriguing concept is supported by 1 Peter 2:11, which declares that we are like “foreigners and strangers” in this world. (And, yes, I can can give a big “Amen” to that!) The psalmist further expands upon this interesting proposition with these most beautiful and surprisingly comforting words;  “Whom have I in heaven but You? And there is none upon earth that I desire besides You. My flesh and my heart fail;  But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” 

As I ponder all this I am quite aware that I also wholeheartedly believe that “God gives us richly all things to enjoy” while here on earth. And, delving further still into this enigma, I can take pleasure in those gifts from above, but, in a really confounding paradox, all earthly things that I seek after ~ even happiness itself  ~  are (per Solomon) vanity! Well, this does appear to be a bit circular on the surface, but I think the point is that any of us can experience fleeting moments of pleasure here and there, but truly lasting peace and full joy will not be attained until we reach heaven and meet Him face-to-face.

So, in my reflection upon “life” I  choose to move my thoughts beyond, to after life, and smile at my future …

“ Eye has not seen, nor ear heard,  nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” 1 Corinthians 2:9

All artwork displayed is under copyright, and is available in print & poster formats. Please comment here to order. To see other artwork by this writer, please visit  www.FaithfulFriendsArt.com 

About lisasalan

I am a watercolor artist that loves to dabble in other media and materials. I particularly love rendering God’s amazing creation, be it animals, flowers, autumn leaves or landscapes. My website is FaithfulFriendsArt.com. Among my Faithful Friends are my wonderful husband and precious daughter, two darling dogs and a beloved Persian kitty. And, of course, my most True and Faithful Friend is my Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ. Please visit FaithfulFriendsArt.com.
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 2:9, dog, God, I Peter 2:11, Max Lucado, reflection, Uncategorized, Yellow Lab and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflecting

  1. Lisa, your comments are as rich as your artwork. This is the beginning of a good book, I believe. I like the essay above as well as the one accompanying “Hopeful.” What a cute chubby bird that is! You are SO very talented, I am simply in awe.

    • lisasalan says:

      Chaz, thank you for your kind words regarding this posting “Butterfly Swimmer” and “Hopeful.” I greatly value comments from talented designers (and writers) as yourself! Blessings today and always!

Leave a Reply

