Hopeful

One of my most fervent prayers for the last few years has been for spiritual revival in our land, taken from the oft-repeated II Chronicles 7:14. In accord with my prayers, I have begun to notice a surprisingly satisfying theme infiltrating the mainstream US news media lately (which I hope will turn into a complete trend) of news stories which actually mention pleas to God and Christian faith carrying people through times of crises or impending disaster.

The first story that caught my attention over a week ago quoted the son of  56-year-old Rita Chretian who was rescued after surviving 48 days in the Nevada high-desert. The faith of this woman was reported by her son who said, “She had a very clear indication that there would be something on Friday, whether it was to go home to be with her Savior, or to be rescued, and it was to be rescued.” Some news stories even went “so far” as to report this woman’s Christian faith and quote the particular verse she held close while waiting to be rescued, Psalm 86:2 “Preserve my life for I am godly; save your servant who trusts in you — you are my God.”  Wow! Pretty cool!

Then, a few days ago, my husband read out loud the headlines to me of another major news item about a Cathay Pacific jet which caught fire and made an emergency landing in Singapore in which boldly announced,”‘God Save Us; Give Us Your Protection,’ Passengers Pray.'” Amazing, I thought to myself. Just amazing.

The final article that stood out was about the faith of New England Patriot draftee, Marcus Cannon, who has just been diagnosed with non-Hodgkins Lymphoma and was quoted as saying, “It really hasn’t been as emotional as you’d expect. God’s kept us pretty settled, has kept us pretty patient. So everything has been taken care of.” This is a pretty inspiring testimony of faith! And, though Mr. Cannon didn’t mention Jesus by name, his being a draftee from TCU is a strong enough indication for those reading this article of exactly which God he’s referring to.

Now, I rarely read the news items that pop up on our MSN homepage, so I know the Lord was leading me (and my husband) to particular accounts. And, the difference that I am pointing out is not in the individual faith of these Christians in the news stories but rather in the hearts of the individual  journalists and decision-makers of the American media who are now being led to report on faith in God times of trouble. Perhaps it is all the turmoil — “birth pangs” the bible calls them — that we have all witnessed from the horrific earthquakes and aftershocks to the tornadoes, floods, terrorist attacks and genocides which appear to be getting more violent and more frequent, which is causing even the most agnostic of our culture to re-consider faith in God.Whatever the reason for this subtle change, I know God’s hand is in it and I am so thankful. And, like the little bluebird, hopeful, once again.

“Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.” I Corinthians 13:7

This little bluebird is my watercolor version of a piece of artwork of one of my favorite watercolor artists, Rachelle Levinston.

Please visit www.FaithfulFriendsArt.com

About lisasalan

I am a watercolor artist that loves to dabble in other media and materials. I particularly love rendering God’s amazing creation, be it animals, flowers, autumn leaves or landscapes. My website is FaithfulFriendsArt.com. Among my Faithful Friends are my wonderful husband and precious daughter, two darling dogs and a beloved Persian kitty. And, of course, my most True and Faithful Friend is my Savior and Lord, Jesus Christ. Please visit FaithfulFriendsArt.com.
This entry was posted in bluebird, faith, God, God Save Us, I Corinthians 13:7, II Chronicles 7:14, Marcus Cannon, Psalm 86:2, TCU, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

